

AGENDA

Meeting: STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Place: Committee Room III, County Hall, Trowbridge

Date: Wednesday 22 September 2010

Time: <u>2.00 pm</u>

Please direct any enquiries on this Agenda to Pam Denton, of Democratic Services, County Hall, Trowbridge, direct line 01225 718371 or email pam.denton@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications on direct lines (01225)713114/713115.

All public reports referred to on this agenda are available on the Council's website at www.wiltshire.gov.uk

Membership:

Wiltshire Council Members

Cllr Nigel Carter, Cllr Ernie Clark, Cllr Peter Fuller, Cllr Malcolm Hewson, Cllr Julian Johnson and Cllr Ian McLennan

Town/Parish Council Co-opted Members

Mr William Bailey, Mr Craig McCallum, Mr Paul Neale, Mr Robert Oglesby JP, Mr John Scragg, Miss Pam Turner, Mr Keith Wallace and His Hon David MacLaren Webster QC

Independent Co-opted Members

Mrs Jane Bayley, Mr Michael Cronin, Mr Philip Gill MBE JP, Mrs Isabel McCord (Chairman), Mr Ian McGill CBE, Mr Stuart Middleton and Mr Gerry Robson OBE (Vice-Chair)

1. Apologies

2. Minutes of previous meeting (Pages 1 - 8)

To confirm and sign the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 21 July 2010 (copy attached).

3. Chairman's announcements

4. Declarations of Interest

To receive any declarations of personal or prejudicial interests.

5. **Public participation**

The Council welcomes contributions from members of the public.

If you would like to make a statement at this meeting on any item on this agenda, please register to do so at least 10 minutes prior to the meeting. Up to 3 speakers are permitted to speak for up to 3 minutes each on any agenda item. The Chairman will, however, exercise her discretion in order to ensure that members of the public have the opportunity to contribute.

Members of the public wishing to ask a question should give written notice (including details of any question) to the officer named above by **12.00 noon on Monday 20 September 2010.**

6. Minutes of sub-committees (Pages 9 - 16)

The Committee is asked to receive and note the minutes of the following Sub-Committees:

Dispensations Sub Committee – 27 July 2010 and 19 August 2010

7. Annual Report of the Local Government Ombudsman (Pages 17 - 38)

To consider the annual report of the Local Government Ombudsman

8. Department of Community Services Compliments and Complaints Annual Report 2009-2010

Report to follow.

9. Code of Conduct Determination Hearing (Pages 39 - 48)

To advise the Committee of the outcome of a meeting of the Hearing Sub-Committee – report by the Monitoring Officer

10. Local Standards Framework - Review of Process (Pages 49 - 64)

To receive the report of the Monitoring Officer

11. Status Report on Complaints made under the Code of Conduct (Pages 65 - 68)

To receive the attached status report

12. Review of the Standards Committee Plan 2010-2014

Report to follow

13. **Dispensations - Dual-Hatted Members of Area Boards** (Pages 69 - 76)

To receive the report of the Monitoring Officer

14. Report of the Task and Finish Group on Presentations to Area Boards

To receive a verbal update from Mr Gerry Robson, OBE

15. **Forward Plan** (*Pages 77 - 78*)

To receive the committee's forward plan

16. **Standards for England Bulletin No. 48** (*Pages 79 - 82*)

To consider the latest Bulletin from Standards for England and discuss any issues arising from it.

17. Urgent Items

Any other items of business, which in the opinion of the Chairman, should be taken as a matter of urgency. Urgent items of a confidential nature may be considered under Part II of this agenda.